Jimmy Perry

Meet Jimmy Perry.  He was born and raised in Naples, Florida. Growing up he was always interested in sports and the outdoors.  Jimmy graduated from Palmetto Ridge High where he currently coaches football.  After playing football in college and earning a degree in Kinesiology Health Fitness Studies from Mississippi State he then returned to Naples.  Jimmy Perry is a true entrepreneur, owner of two businesses.  In addition to coaching Jimmy is a personal trainer with Grindlife Training and a Florida Commercial Fisherman, owner of Big Jimmy’s.  You can follow the links to learn more!   I first learned about Jimmy when I moved to Naples, from Maryland.  We love blue crabs and he was the first person many mentioned as the best source locally for Florida Blue Crabs!  I have enjoyed following him on social media and getting to know him.  It is my pleasure to introduce you to Jimmy and allow you to learn more about him below.

Q: Please tell us a little bit about your family.

I live in naples with my girlfriend and new baby daughter.  My mom is from Alabama and my dad is from Georgia. They both moved down to Naples at a young age in the 60’s. My dad worked at FPL and my mom was a kindergarten teacher.

Q: Please tell us about your current, past, or future career. What do you love most about what you do?
My first job out of college was working as a personal trainer in a local gym. I then branched out and started working at country clubs as a trainer. I almost opened up a gym but then decided to go a different route. I still train athletes on the side when I have time. Currently I am giving commercial fishing most of my attention. Blue crabbing is my main job. I also stone crab and catch mullet in season. What I love most about my field of work is the freedom, seeing the sun rise in the morning, and delivering quality seafood to the public. It’s hard to pick just one.

Q: What are a couple of your favorite restaurants in our community?
Nana’s, Beach Box Cafe, and Noodles

Q: How long have you lived or worked in our community?
I have lived in Naples my whole life except college.  I’ve been working 6 years in Naples.

Q: If you could travel anywhere in the world right now, where would it be and why?
I would like to go to Hawaii because I’ve always heard it’s nice there

Q: What is one of your favorite movies? TV shows?
The Jamie Foxx Show

Q: What advice would you give to people?
Treat everyone with the same level of respect you would want.

Q: What is something on your bucket list?
Opening my own crab shack/seafood shop

Q: What is your go to band when you cant decide what to listen to?
Kevin Gates

Q: If you could choose anyone that is alive today and not a relative; with whom would you love to have lunch? Why? And where locally would y’all meet for this lunch?
My friend Tyrell and probably Habachi of Japan

Q: What is your favorite thing or something unique about our community?
Naples Beach. The view late in the evening.

Q: Where do you see yourself in 5 to 10 years?
A successful business owner and running non profits for high school athletes

Q: (Even for friends or family), what is something interesting that most people don’t know about you?
I can low key sing a little bit

Q: What is the most beautiful place you have ever been?
While hunting in Mississippi I came across a creek half froze flowing under a wooden bridge. Priceless view

Q: Favorite month? favorite holiday? and best single day on the calendar?
December, Martin Luther King Day, 1st

Q: What would you rate a 10 out of 10?
Chic-Fil-A service

Q: Who inspires you to be better?
My mother inspires me to be better

Q: What is one or two of your favorite smells?
Fresh roses and fried fish

Q: Finally, what 3 words or phrases come to mind when you think of the word HOME?
Peaceful, quiet, tranquil

Nancy Bjork of John R. Wood Propertieswould love your Faces nominations.